Playwrights Lab

About the Playwrights Lab

Since 2014, The Antaeus Playwrights Lab has served as an incubator for developing new plays. We believe that the playwrights should have the creative freedom and feel empowered to drive their own artistic process to develop new plays.

Writers with promising works in development may be offered the opportunity to have their full-length plays explored in an unrehearsed reading at our semi-annual Roundtables. These internal readings are followed by dramaturgical discussions to help guide the final stages of the playwrights’ work. Plays considered to have high potential for future production at Antaeus (or elsewhere) may be offered Completion Commissions to support their development with additional resources. We then present an annual reading series, LAB RESULTS, where select works under development in the Lab are shared with the public.

Two original works from the Playwrights Lab (The Abuelas and Eight Nights) were produced as part of our 2019/20 season, and during 2020/21, we’ve produced and shared Lab members’ original plays through our acclaimed audio series, The Zip Code Plays.

By programming new voices we believe will stand the test of time alongside classic plays, we  highlight the rich sense of language and storytelling they share and further our commitment to making classical theater more open and inclusive.

In the Lab

Sean Abley
Nayna Agrawal
Alex Alpharaoh
Stephen Apostolina
Barbara Beery
Jennifer Berry
Diana Burbano
Jami Brandli
Peppur Chambers
Paula Cizmar
Doug Cooney
Jihan Crowther
Angela J. Davis
Kevin Delin
Matthew Doherty
Natalie Nicole Dressel
Jeanette Farr-Harkins
Alan Freeman
Cyndy Fujikawa
Alex Goldberg
Franky Gonzalez
Deborah Hiett
Dan Hirsch
Aja Houston
Christina Hjelm
Karen Howes
Karen Huie
Julianne Jigour
Jonathan Josephson
Luis Kelly-Duarte
Lisa Kenner-Grissom
Carolyn Kras
Mildred Inez Lewis
Ali MacLean
Jennifer Maisel
Anna Mathias
Dakin Matthews
Robert Menna
Alison Minami
Ed Napier
Ann Noble
Devon O’Brien
Tira Palmquist
Chandler Patton
Jennifer Rowland
Eric Rudnick
Jeanne Sakata
Steve Serpas
Steve Shade
Lori Tubert
Sarah Tuft
Stephanie Alison Walker
Ashley Rose Wellman
Elizabeth Wong
Khari Wyatt
Marlow Wyatt

Five stars…Antaeus delivers at the very pinnacle of the art.

Ron Irwin,

Learn More:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
|   Featuring:
Seamus Dever, Luisina Quarleri, Denise Blasor   |
Photographer: Jenny Graham
|   Featuring:
Zoe Yale, Karen Malina White   |
Photographer: Jenny Graham

let's talk!

Sign up for the Antaeus Newsletter