Antaeus Odyssey Artists’ Workshop


Our vision is a community where our youth have access to positive adult role models and programs as an alternative to incarceration and to recognize the "hero" potential that each possesses.



The Odyssey Artists’ Workshop is a creative writing and theatre program for young adults from high-risk environments. The workshop teaches the structural elements of non-fiction writing as well as theater performance skills through the component of Shakespeare. The students craft and perform an original theater piece of their personal stories interwoven with selected characters and themes from Shakespeare’s plays.

Current Partners

William Tell Aggeler Opportunity High School
Homeboy Industries
New Village Charter School
Hoover High School

Teaching Artists

The Antaeus Odyssey Artists' Workshop was founded by artist and educator Elizabeth Berman, and Antaeus company member John Prosky. Our Teaching Artists are classically-trained actors and playwrights from within the company.

Elizabeth Berman began her career as a film editor in New York City before relocating to Los Angeles. She was a member of Holly Prado’s writers’ workshop for five years and then went on to earn an MFA in Creative Nonfiction at Antioch University. She founded the non-profit Odyssey Writers’ Workshop, a creative writing program for at-risk teens in three Los Angeles High Schools which eventually merged with Antaeus to create the current program. Elizabeth has served on the boards of the Texas Council for Family Violence, the Harvard Westlake Annual Fund, the UCLA Lab School, UC Berkeley Parent’s Fund, The Gabriella Foundation and The Denan Project. Her work appears in the “Tender Ears” anthology and she is a contributor to the Malibu Times Magazine. Elizabeth is married to television and film producer Rick Berman. They have three children.

Program Directors: Elizabeth Berman, Adrian LaTourelle, and Ann Noble

Our Teaching Artists include:

Elizabeth Berman
Ann Noble
Ramon de Ocampo
R. Ernie Silva
John Apicella
Marcelo Tubert
Aaron Lyons
Curtis Byrd

Abigail Marks
Elizabeth Swain
Tro Shaw
Karen Malina White
David DeSantos
Adrian LaTourelle